Roz Ka Khana

A blog about everyday food. Mostly Indian. All vegetarian.

Gujarati Khichdi-Kadhi

The second in our choice of comfort foods, there are many versions to the khichdi. Maharashtrian, Rajasthani, South Indian cuisines have their own twists to this comfort food. I have always enjoyed the Khichdi – Kadhi combo meal made by our Gujarati friends and so one wintry evening, I called my dear friend, Jayshree, to get the recipe. Much to my delight, she suggested we get together at her place for a Khichdi cooking lesson/dinner. I realized later that she knew me really well…this was the third time I had asked her for the recipe and had not made it yet, so she figured this was the best way to get me inspired…watch her cook it hands on! I could say, it worked… at least I wrote down the recipe to share it with everyone here and made it, well, with her as the chef! Before dinner, we also helped make some masala baked potatoes for appetizers, the recipe of which I will share too, as this meal was not only a breeze to make, but very, very tasty, and aren’t those the buzz words here – easy and tasty?

Recipe for Gujarati Khichdi (Serves 4) 

Ingredients:

Rice – 1 cup

 Moong dal – ½ cup

Oil

Cinnamon sticks – 1 to 2

Mustard – ½ tsp

Jeera – ½ tsp

Onions chopped – 1

Asafoetida – a pinch

Vegetables – potato, peas, carrots, eggplant (optional), black eyed peas (frozen or boiled), frozen tuvar dana  

5 Green chilies – crushed

Garlic paste – 1 tsp

Ginger paste – 1 tsp

Raw peanuts – ¼ cup (optional)

Cilantro chopped

Garam Masala – 1 tsp 

Salt to taste

Soak the rice and dal for about ½ hour. Add about 1 tsp oil in a kadhai or a heavy bottom vessel. Add the cinnamon, mustard seeds and jeera. After the mustard seeds pop, add the onions and sauté for a few minutes. Add the asafoetida. Now add all the vegetables and sauté for a few more minutes. Add the crushed green chilies, the garlic paste and the ginger paste and sauté for 3 more minutes. Now add the soaked rice and dal. khichdi2.jpgYou can also add the peanuts at this time. Add about 3-4 cups water. (depending on how you like the khichdi consistency to be). Add some chopped cilantro and some garam masala. Add salt.khichdi3.jpgClose the vessel with a tight lid and leave to cook for about half hour till the rice and dal are done to a nice mashed mix. You could also make this in a pressure cooker or a rice cooker. I don’t think there is a huge difference in the taste, and it’s a lot more convenient. Serve hot with a dollop of ghee, some kadhi, papad and pickle. As they say, these are Khichdi ke chaar yaars (4 friends) – dahi (yoghurt), papad, ghee and achar (pickle). We just substituted the dahi with the kadhi here!khichdi4.jpg

*Updated 2/28 – Submitting this entry for Meeta’s Monthly Mingle – Comfort Food Round-up at http://whatsforlunchhoney.blogspot.com/2008/02/comfort-food-roundup-mm-18.html#MMFeb2008

Recipe for Kadhi

Ingredients for Kadhi masala:

1-2 tsp chopped Amba haldi (also known as curcuma amada or mango ginger) – Maanga Inji in Tamil

1-2 tsp Tuvar Dana (frozen pigeon peas)

Green chilies – 2 or 3

Curry leaves – a sprig

Whole jeera (Cumin seeds) – 1 tsp

Cilantro chopped 

For Kadhi:

Yoghurt – 1 cup

Besan (gram flour) – 2 tsp

Jeera powder (cumin powder) – ½ tsp 

Salt to taste

For tadka

Mustard seeds – 1 tsp

Jeera (cumin seeds) – 1 tsp

Red chilies (optional)

Curry leaves – a few 

Add all the ingredients for kadhi masala to a fine paste and add some salt to taste. (Since amba haldi is not always available year round, you can also make this masala in bulk and freeze it) 

Take a cup of yoghurt in a vessel and add about 2 cups of water. Add the besan to this yoghurt-water mix. Add the jeera powder and the kadhi masala. Bring this mixture to a light boil. Turn off the heat. Now take some oil in a small pan and add mustard seeds, jeera, red chillies (optional). After the mustard seeds crackle, add the tadka to the kadhi. Garnish with cilantro. Serve with the khichdi.

kadhi.jpg

Single Post Navigation

18 thoughts on “Gujarati Khichdi-Kadhi

  1. trupti on said:

    the perfect meal!

  2. You got to be kidding me. That is the most distorted version of the kadhi I have read.

    • rozkakhana on said:

      Hi Leena

      Thanks for your feedback. Would appreciate if you could explain your comment better. This recipe has been tried many times in mine and my Gujarati friend’s homes (the source) and has always been a hit, so would really like to get a little more detail from you.
      May also help if you provided your version of this recipe so readers and I can benefit.

      • Bhandhavya on said:

        Hi,

        I tried your khichadi and it was awesome. I agree with you 100% on the khadi receipe. This is exactly how my gujarti friend makes at home (very authentic) and it tastes divine.

        Thanks,
        Bhandhavya.

    • rasanaatreya on said:

      There is never only one variation of a recipe that is *the* recipe. Recipes evolve over time, with different households adding their own touches. This is an awesome recipe, btw.

  3. asha on said:

    hi,

    today i am going to prepare this…pls add some recipes of potatoes in gujarathi style

  4. I tried the recipe… it was awesome. Just the precise taste.

  5. Snehal Patel on said:

    Hi, Friends
    How are You?

    I Like to eat Khichadi and Kadi.

  6. hieee…i made this n ws yummyyy!!!!!!
    My husbnd n i sys thnks 2 uuu…..this tastes vry awsome..n a gud source of healthy fud..
    Thnksssss@??????

  7. neetu on said:

    can we substitute mango ginger with something else?

    • rozkakhana on said:

      Neetu – I’m not really sure if you will get the same taste with the substitute. This is an authentic Surati recipe though I have had kadhis which taste different and Jain kadhis which probably don’t use Amba haldi. You may want to to try using just ginger and some amchur or dried mango but I haven’t tried this myself so not sure. Let me know if you do:)

  8. i have tried this kichidi for the first time and it turned out real yummy…im so glad i found tnhis recipe…keep writing “roz ka khana” want to learn more… 🙂

    • rozkakhana on said:

      Hi Shalini – sorry for the late reply. I was taking a blogging break:) So glad you liked this recipe. This is my favorite recipe for khichdi.

  9. Pingback: Masala Egg “Half” Fry « Roz Ka Khana

  10. Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own
    blog soon but I’m having a tough time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  11. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Diid you make this website
    youdself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own
    blog andd would lie to know where u got this from. thanks
    a lot

  12. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I have joiuned your rss feed and look forward tto seeking more of
    your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your website in my social
    networks!

Leave a comment